Chandler’s Jiu-Jitsu prevails at Bellator

Share it

Bellator 58 went on this Saturday, in Hollywood, Florida, and brought a card full of good fights, with judokas, Jiu-Jitsu black belts and muay thai champions.

In the main fight, Michael Chandler faced the lightweight champ Eddie Alvarez and was almost knocked out at the second turn. In a sensational twist, Chandler ended with the sequence of seven triumphs of the American, when applying for a connection of blows and then grabbing his back and ended the fight with a rear naked choke, during the fourth round. With the victory, Chandler took the lightweight belt from Alvarez.

Middleweight champion,  the judoka Hector Lombard used his fists to defeat the ex-UFC and Strikeforce Trevor Prangley. With a upper in the chin, Trevor made ​​him swing and fall, and with four hits defined the duel in the second round. It was the Cuban’s 20th straight victory.

Marlon Sandro came back full of energy after being knocked out by Pat Curran during hi last performance. Against Rafael Dias, he used a half-guard and finalized with a triangle choke, tapping out Rafael and ending the duel. Among the girls, Jessica Aguilar was more complete than Lisa Ellis-Ward during the three stages and won by unanimous decision.

During the preliminary fights,  Cosmo Alexandre was relentless and he needed only 20 seconds to apply a knockout over Avery McPhatter, with two knee hits, the Muay Thai world champion has achieved his first victory in MMA. Valdir Araujo was better than Ailton Araujo in the three partials and won by unanimous decision, same result obtained by

Fabio Mello against Farkhad Sharipov, and by Brett Cooper against Jared Hess.


Bellator 58

Hollywood, Flórida

November 19, 2011


Michael Chandler applied a rear naked choke over Eddie Alvarez during R4

Hector Lombard defeated Trevor Prangley by knockout during R2

Marlon Sandro applied an arm triangle choke over Rafael Dias during R1

Jessica Aguilar defeated Lisa Ellis-Ward by unanimous decision

Brett Cooper defeated Jared Hess by unanimous decision

Cosmo Alexandre defeated Avery McPhatter by knockout during R1

Valdir Araujo defeated Ailton Barbosa by unanimous decision

Hebert Goodman defeated Jonas Billstein by disqualification

Fabio Mello defeated Farkhad Sharipov by unanimous decision

Ler matéria completa Read more