Edgar dominates Penn to win by TKO in three rounds; Anderson, Gordon crowned TUF champions

Share it


The count is now 3-0 Edgar.

Once again, BJ Penn was not able to present Frank Edgar with an upset in their third encounter in the UFC octagon.

Since round 1, Edgar controlled the action with takedowns and some quality ground and pound from BJ’s guard.

The storyline repeated itself on round 2, when Edgar was able to inflict a lot of damage with repeated elbow strikes to BJ’s head.

Penn’s corner between rounds 2 and 3 said to him to worry only about the next round: “Just try to win big this one,” they told the fighter, more wishing than instructing.

0_HayabusaGi_StampSiteIn fact, round three was all that BJ had to worry, because it was the last one.

Once again in BJ’s guard, Edgar pounded hard and left referee Herb Dean no option but to stop the match.

“I didn’t want to worry about what he was going to do, but with what I wanted to do. Anyway, it was a bittersweet victory. I have nothing but respect for BJ,” said Edgar after the match.

As expected, BJ announced he is done with fighting: “Dana White said to me that it’s over and I have to agree with him. I can’t be in this guy’s level anymore.”

Now a UFC Hall of Famer, Penn saluted Edgar for his performance: “He was great”.

At the two TUF 19 finals, Eddie Gordon and Corey Anderson came out on top.

First, at the middleweight division, Eddie Gordon gave no hopes to Dhiego Lima.

Fast and brutal, Gordon connected early and forced Lima to the fence where he finished the job in only 1:11 of the first round.

Later on, in the light-heavyweight division, Corey Anderson also dominated his opponent.

Precise since the beginning, Anderson cornered Matt Van Buren to win by TKO with only 3:59 of the first round.

Both winners got a six figure contract with the UFC and a brand new Harley Davidson motorcicle.

TUF 19 Finale: Edgar vs. Penn
Las Vegas, Nevada
July 6, 2014

Frankie Edgar defeated BJ Penn by TKO 4:16 of R3
Corey Anderson defeated Matt Van Buren by TKO at 3:59 of R1
Eddie Gordon defeated Dhiego Lima by TKO at 1:11 of R1
Derrick Lewis defeated Guto Inocente by KO at 1:30 of R1
Dustin Ortiz defeated Justin Scoggins by split decision

Preliminary card

Kevin Lee defeated Jesse Ronson by unanimous decision
Leandro Brodinho defeated Jumabieke Tuerxun by submission (armlock) at 3:49 of R3
Adriano Martins defeated Juan Manuel Puig aos 2min21s do R1
Patrick Walsh defeated Dan Spohn by unanimous decision
Sarah Mora defeated Alexis Dufresne by unanimous decision
Robert Drysdale defeated Keith Berish by submission (RNC) at 2:03 of R1

Ler matéria completa Read more