Rizzo knocks out Shamrock in Sydney

Share it

Impact FC held its second event this Saturday in Sydney, Australia. The event featured a number of big-name fighters, many of whom are veterans.

In the evening’s main event, Pedro Rizzo didn’t give Ken Shamrock a chance. Rizzo threw punches and kicks to come up with the knockout 3:33 min into the first round, marking the Brazilian’s third win in a row.

Years on, the fight that was supposed to have taken place at Pride Bushido finally happened, but there was no victor in the bout between Paulo Filho and Denis Kang, ending in a split draw.

Brother of UFC champion Mauricio Shogun Murilo Ninja is known for his striking, but he often showcases his refined Jiu-Jitsu skills. That’s what transpired in Sydney, when he came up with his ninth career submission win, against Jeremy May, with a guillotine choke in the first round.

Murilo Bustamante had a few good moments in the first round, when he made it to the mount against Jesse Taylor. In the second he fell and suffered a barrage of ground and pound strikes that seemed to have little effect. The fight returned to the feet but, to the crowd’s surprise, Murilo didn’t continue. According to the Sherdog.com website, Bustamante said behind the scenes that he felt dizzy, even though the strikes weren’t that hard. When the fight returned to standing, he realized he would be unable to continue.

Former UFC fighter Paul Daley didn’t have it easy against Daniel Acacio. The Brazilian had a solid showing before Daley won by submission in the third round.

Glover Teixeira added another good win to his record and, for the eighth time in a row, he didn’t need the whole three rounds, getting the knockout over Marko Peseli in the first.

Check out the complete results:

Impact FC 2
Saturday July 17, 2010
Sydney, Australia

Pedro Rizzo defeated Ken Shamrock via TKO at 3:33 min of R1
Paul Daley submitted Daniel Acácio at 1:15 min of R3
Soa Palelei defeated Brad Morris at 4:20 min of R1
Paulo Filho drew with Denis Kang
Murilo “Ninja” Rua submitted Jeremy May via guillotine at 4:12 min of R1

Jesse Taylor defeated Murilo Bustamante via TKO at 2:10 min of R2
Jim York submitted Peter Graham via rear-naked choke at 3:44 min of R1
Glover Teixeira defeated Marko Peseli via TKO at 2:55 min of R2
Richie Vaculik submitted Glenn Taylor-Smith via rear-naked choke at 4:16 min of R2
Manuel Rodriguez submitted Shane Nix via rear-naked choke at 4:22 min of R1

Ler matéria completa Read more